Breaking News

British Comics

2000AD Prog 2028 Preview: Mars Attacked!

There’s some sweet space war action on the cover of this week’s 2000AD, on sale Wednesday, as the Venusians take it to their Martian enemies, in “Scarlet Traces: Cold War” on this week’s cover, from co-creator and series art droid, D’Israeli. In this issue…  JUDGE DREDD // HARVEY
 John Wagner (Writer) / John McCrea (Artist). Judge Dredd created by John ... Read More »

“Inking Woman” Exhibition opens next week at London’s Cartoon Musuem

Cartoon Musuem: The Inking Woman Exhibition

Opening next week at London’s Cartoon Museum (running from 26th April to 23rd July 2017), The Inking Woman is an exhibition bringing together original artwork spanning 250 years, from 18th century caricatures to modern graphic novels, The Inking Woman is a celebration of the vibrancy and variety of women’s cartoon and comic expression in the UK. The exhibition features the work of Carol ... Read More »

In Praise of… Leo Baxendale

Willy the Kid meets the Loch Ness Monster by and © Leo Baxendale

Leo Baxendale is a British cartoonist who should need no introduction to downthetubes readers. Not only was the creator of the classic Beano strips “Little Plum”, “Minnie the Minx”, “The Bash Street Kids” and “The Three Bears”, but he was instrumental in the creation of the much-loved Wham! , published by Odhams Press, in  1964, and for creating Clever Dick (for ... Read More »

Killer Commandos Stalk Your Newsagent This Week – and there’s flying saucers on the loose, too!

Commando 5011 - Flight of Fancy

  DC Thomson’s Commando Issues 5011 – 5014, on sale now in all good newsagents and various digital platforms, deliver a hotpot of unique wartime adventures, ranging from World War Two Home Front detectives to grizzled Yankees in the Vietnamese jungle. While “Flight of Fancy” and “Killer Commando” tackle different genres, delivering time honoured Commando themes and stories with a ... Read More »

Comic creators, a bar – and a Music Festival in Liverpool? Sounds like a great combination!

Craft Comic Festival 2017

Ace Liverpool-based comic creators Tom Ward (writer and creator of MERRICK: The Sensational Elephant Man, co-creator of Doc Dino) and Chris Welsh (creator of Wart and the horror anthology The Grime) are running a little tester comic event out of a bar at the end of this month, in conjunction with a local music festival. The free Craft Comic Festival is part of the weekend’s ... Read More »

Sneak Preview: “Old Farts” by Sorina Vazelina

Peculiar Moments of Silence by Sorina Vazelina

Written and Illustrated by Sorina Vazelina Full Colour – Published by Centrala Books Something is crawling in to my brain, something colourful and crazy. This is an anthology of work by Sorina Vazelina and published by Centrala books in the United Kingdom. Beware. I intend to use drugs references throughout! The book starts off as an examination of growing old ... Read More »

Gareth Brookes brilliant “A Thousand Coloured Castles” gets Gosh launch on Thursday

A Thousand Coloured Castles - Cover

Top British comics creator Gareth Brookes is hosting a launch party for his new graphic novel A Thousand Coloured Castles, published by Myriad Editions, at Gosh! Comics in London later this week – and everyone’s invited. This book is, simply, genius. Disturbing and unsettling to read, but a great story, it’s well deserving of the kudos it has already earned and I ... Read More »

Borderliners is a Real Treat for fans of The Prisoner and Phillip K. Dick

Borderlinners

Manchester-based writer/artist Brian Gorman‘s second graphic novel, Borderliners: True Realities, was published by Invisible Six Ltd a few months ago. I’m ashamed to confess he handed me a copy last October, but it’s taken me this long to escape The Village (translation: catch up on an inordinate amount of book reading) to mention it on downthetubes. Which is very remiss ... Read More »

Philip Pullman’s The Adventures of John Blake: Mystery of the Ghost Ship collection docks in June

The Adventures of John Blake: Mystery of the Ghost Ship

Philip Pullman‘s The Adventures of John Blake: Mystery of the Ghost Ship offers high-octane action and a deep twisting mystery combine in a visual feast of a time-travel tale of adventure on the high seas, due for release in June 2017. Originally seen in The Phoenix comic, Pullman’s story fearless art by Fred Fordham and is being published by David ... Read More »

“Blunderbirds” and Frank Bellamy’s “The Shepherd King” highlighted in new Eagle Times

The latest edition of Eagle Times the magazine of the Eagle Society – Volume 30 No. 1 – is now available. This Issue features articles about Alan Stranks (who created PC49 and scripted several Dan Dare stories), Space Fiction Films in Eagle‘s times, the humorous “Blunderbirds” strip – and the first part of a three part analytical article about Frank Bellamy‘s ... Read More »

Optimization WordPress Plugins & Solutions by W3 EDGE