Breaking News

Adventure Comics

Borderliners is a Real Treat for fans of The Prisoner and Phillip K. Dick

Borderlinners

Manchester-based writer/artist Brian Gorman‘s second graphic novel, Borderliners: True Realities, was published by Invisible Six Ltd a few months ago. I’m ashamed to confess he handed me a copy last October, but it’s taken me this long to escape The Village (translation: catch up on an inordinate amount of book reading) to mention it on downthetubes. Which is very remiss ... Read More »

Philip Pullman’s The Adventures of John Blake: Mystery of the Ghost Ship collection docks in June

The Adventures of John Blake: Mystery of the Ghost Ship

Philip Pullman‘s The Adventures of John Blake: Mystery of the Ghost Ship offers high-octane action and a deep twisting mystery combine in a visual feast of a time-travel tale of adventure on the high seas, due for release in June 2017. Originally seen in The Phoenix comic, Pullman’s story fearless art by Fred Fordham and is being published by David ... Read More »

“Blunderbirds” and Frank Bellamy’s “The Shepherd King” highlighted in new Eagle Times

The latest edition of Eagle Times the magazine of the Eagle Society – Volume 30 No. 1 – is now available. This Issue features articles about Alan Stranks (who created PC49 and scripted several Dan Dare stories), Space Fiction Films in Eagle‘s times, the humorous “Blunderbirds” strip – and the first part of a three part analytical article about Frank Bellamy‘s ... Read More »

Creating Comics: An Interview with Commando Editor Kirsten Murray

Kirsten Murray, editor of Commando and more at DC Thomson

With war comic Commando recently passing its landmark 5000th issue and many changes behind the scenes in its editorial department, downthetubes caught up with the veteran title’s recently-installed editor, Kirsten Murray, just part of her role as DC Thomson’s Heritage Brands editor, to ask her about the title’s ongoing success at a difficult time for British comics – and her ... Read More »

Hibernia offers limited second edition of “The Tower King” from Eagle

The Tower King Panel

On sale now from Hibernia Comics, celebrating the recent 35th anniversary of new Eagle 35th anniversary is a new edition of their fantastic collection of the classic story, The Tower King, written by Alan Hebden (Commando, Meltdown Man) and illustrated by José Ortiz (13th Floor, Creepy, Eerie). “The Tower King” tells the tale of Mick Tempest and his struggles to survive in a London ... Read More »

TItan Comics releases TEKKEN Issue #1 Extended Preview

TEKKEN Issue #1 Cover C Anton Kokarev

Titan Comics have just released an extended art preview of TEKKEN Issue #1 – a brand-new TEKKEN comic hitting comic stores on 3rd May 2017 that leads directly into the upcoming TEKKEN 7 videogame – available on PS4, Xbox One and PC this June. Based on the smash hit video game series, Titan is working closely with BANDAI NAMCO Entertainment ... Read More »

New 100% Biodegradable revives “Rourke of the Radlands”, co-created by Wonder Woman artist Liam Sharp

Biodegradable Issue 16 Cover - SNIP

The latest issue of the ace British digital anthology 100% Biodegradable (Issue 16) is on sale now and of course I’m delighted to report it includes a very special re-presentation of “Rourke of the Radlands – The Wand” – a tale of hard drinking, hot tempered sword and sorcery I co-created with Wonder Woman artist Liam Sharp back in the 1990s. ... Read More »

Thunder comic appeal from 2000AD

2000AD publisher Rebellion – which now owns a large number of comic brands and characters previously published by Fleetway – has appealed for help to find physical copies of the short-lived boys adventure comic Thunder. In online appeals, Rebellion say they are trying to plug a gap in their recently acquired archive. Thunder was a classic “Hatch, Match and Dispatch” ... Read More »

In Review: Garbage Night by Jen Lee

Garbage Night by Jen Lee

Created by Jen Lee Full colour, £12.99 Published by NoBrow The Story: In a barren and ransacked backyard, a dog called Simon lives with his two best friends: a raccoon and a deer. They spend their days looting a desolate supermarket, waiting for the return of the hallowed “Garbage Night” – and week after week, the bins remain empty. But ... Read More »

Last Chance to get your hands on some classic British comic collections from Bear Alley Books!

Bear Alley Books - Frontline and Arena Covers

Over at Bear Alley Books, publisher Steve Holland has a special offer on two of his latest books collecting two great strips from DC Thomson, featuring work by artists Ian Kennedy and Enrique Alcatena. “This will be your last chance to buy Frontline UK and Arena as our license for these titles runs out shortly and both books will be officially ... Read More »

Optimization WordPress Plugins & Solutions by W3 EDGE