Breaking News

Coming Soon: Dazzle Ships and the Art of Confusion 

Dazzle Ships and the Art of Confusion - Art

If you’re a fan of Commando comics, then you may want to check out Dazzle Ships: World War One and the Art of Confusion, out later this year. Yes, it’s nonfiction – but there is a comics connection. Written by Chris Barton this dazzling picture book explores art, desperation, and one man’s incredible idea for saving ships from German torpedoes in ... Read More »

Frank Bellamy “Heros the Spartan” Art Goes Under the Hammer

"Heros the Spartan" from Eagle Volume 14 Issue 22 by Frank Bellamy

A spread of “Heros the Spartan” art by Frank Bellamy published in Eagle in 1963 is currently being offered on the US auction site Heritage Auctions. The spread from the weekly comic appeared in Volume 14 (Issue 22, issue cover dated June 1st, 1963), and was previously owned by comics collector and forthright advocate of the medium Ethan Roberts, who ... Read More »

Borderliners is a Real Treat for fans of The Prisoner and Phillip K. Dick

Borderlinners

Manchester-based writer/artist Brian Gorman‘s second graphic novel, Borderliners: True Realities, was published by Invisible Six Ltd a few months ago. I’m ashamed to confess he handed me a copy last October, but it’s taken me this long to escape The Village (translation: catch up on an inordinate amount of book reading) to mention it on downthetubes. Which is very remiss ... Read More »

Philip Pullman’s The Adventures of John Blake: Mystery of the Ghost Ship collection docks in June

The Adventures of John Blake: Mystery of the Ghost Ship

Philip Pullman‘s The Adventures of John Blake: Mystery of the Ghost Ship offers high-octane action and a deep twisting mystery combine in a visual feast of a time-travel tale of adventure on the high seas, due for release in June 2017. Originally seen in The Phoenix comic, Pullman’s story fearless art by Fred Fordham and is being published by David ... Read More »

Achtung! Commando – a short-lived homage to Britain’s longest-running war comic recalled 

Achtung! Commando Issue One

Despite its longevity, DC Thomson’s last serving pocket library title, Commando, has never gained the kind of fan documentation that other British comics have. Achtung! Commando was a short-lived attempt to change that, published at the turn of the century but lasting just four issues. Edited by comics artist and historian Peter Richardson, only four issues of the Achtung! Commando fanzine ... Read More »

“Blunderbirds” and Frank Bellamy’s “The Shepherd King” highlighted in new Eagle Times

The latest edition of Eagle Times the magazine of the Eagle Society – Volume 30 No. 1 – is now available. This Issue features articles about Alan Stranks (who created PC49 and scripted several Dan Dare stories), Space Fiction Films in Eagle‘s times, the humorous “Blunderbirds” strip – and the first part of a three part analytical article about Frank Bellamy‘s ... Read More »

Gerry Anderson “UFO” convention in June

An alien from Gerry Anderson's UFO

There hasn’t even a UFO Convention inspired by the Gerry Anderson TV series in the UK nearly 30 years… Until now. While many of the show’s principals are, sadly, no longer with us (including its creator Gerry Anderson), there is still much to be said about this show, so I hope the S.H.A.D.O. Con is a success. Anderson’s first live ... Read More »

In Review: Colossie Issue One (Vault Comics)

Colossi Issue One - Cover

Colossi Issue One Script by Ricardo Mo Art by Alberto Muriel Colours by Stelladia Letters by HdE Full Colour – Published by Vault Comics – $3.99 The Book: When Trans Atmos Shuttle 34 disappears into a wormhole, its pilot and passengers are launched into an adventure of gigantic proportions. Lost in an oversized parallel universe, the group must put aside ... Read More »

SF adventure “Geysers of Titan”, drawn by Doctor Who Adventures’ Russ Leach, continues in Aces Weekly

"Geysers of Titan", a strip drawn by Doctor Who Adventures artist Russ Leach, written by Petri Hanninem, lettered by Sam Roads

The latest volume of David Lloyd‘s Aces Weekly is available now and Volume 27 continues to be one of the most rip-roaring yet. For me, for example, it’s inevitable I’d be drawn to “Geysers of Titan“, an SF strip set on Titan, drawn by Doctor Who Adventures artist Russ Leach, written by Petri Hanninen, lettered by Sam Roads. As if downthetubes readers ... Read More »

“This One Summer”, acclaimed graphic novel written by Mariko Tamaki and illustrated by Jillian Tamaki, tops US “Banned Books” list

This One Summer written by Mariko Tamaki and illustrated by Jillian Tamaki

This One Summer, the award-winning, widely-acclaimed graphic novel written by Mariko Tamaki and illustrated by Jillian Tamaki – both guests at this year’s Lakes International Comic Art Festival in October – has topped the 2016 list of most frequently challenged books released by the American Library Association ahead of Banned Books Week 2017 later this year. The book was one ... Read More »

Optimization WordPress Plugins & Solutions by W3 EDGE