One of Glenn B. Fleming's illustrations for his illustrated war story Eight Seconds

Glenn B. Fleming’s “Eight Seconds” brings life to a World War Two mission in new illustrated novel

Out in May is Eight Seconds – a new war story written and illustrated by British author Glenn B Fleming which will surely appeal to fans of Commando comics. In the early hours of 6 June 1944, the British 6th Airborne Division left England in their C-47 aircraft and headed for the French coast. TheyContinue reading Glenn B. Fleming’s “Eight Seconds” brings life to a World War Two mission in new illustrated novel

The Regiment Volume One (Cinebook Recounts Édition) SNIP

Stunning graphic novel telling origins of the SAS out in September

War comics seem to be getting a new lease of life right now. Following up on DC Thomson’s release of their full colour Commando Presents Ramsey’s Raiders volume, and the serialised release of Battle Presents: Operation Overlord with the latest Issue of Judge Dredd Megazine (with more to come), Cinebook have a World War TwoContinue reading Stunning graphic novel telling origins of the SAS out in September

Garth Ennis and Keith Burns’ “Out of the Blue” out next March

Out next March from US publisher Aftershock Comics is a new war story, Out of the Blue, a superb-looking tale that is sure to appeal to fans of Battle, Commando, “Johnny Red” and other war comics. Writer Garth Ennis (Jimmy’s Bastards, A Walk Through Hell, Preacher, The Boys) and artist Keith Burns (War Stories) re-uniteContinue reading Garth Ennis and Keith Burns’ “Out of the Blue” out next March

Fantastic Forces – The Longest Road

Real-life British Soldier immortalised in new comic to mark Remembrance

To mark Remembrance, and help build public awareness of the work and sacrifices of those serving in the Armed Forces over the last century, the British Forces Broadcasting Service has immortalised a real-life British solider in the pages of a comic book, as Fantastic Forces – The Longest Road, written by Ferg Handley with artContinue reading Real-life British Soldier immortalised in new comic to mark Remembrance

Beezer - The Heroes of Paradise Road SNIP

How Commando publisher DC Thomson pioneered wartime family drama in comics

Long before “Charley’s War” in Battle, and the latest Commando mini-series, “The Weekes’ War” Dundee-based comics publisher DC Thomson pioneered the idea of seeing war through the eyes of different members of the same family in comics – all serving simultaneously on different fronts, including a sister on the Home Front. “The Heroes of Paradise Rd.” ranContinue reading How Commando publisher DC Thomson pioneered wartime family drama in comics