New ComicScene out next week, offers free pull out comic

On sale Thursday 21st November, ComicScene Issue 10 features seven new comic strips behind a Judge Dredd cover by John Charles, including four strips in a free 24 page pull out Corker! comic.

ComicScene Issue 10

The idea is comic fans can pull out the comic and share with friends, sons, daughters, nieces, nephews, grandchildren or leave at a library, school, community centre or public space to encourage comic reading every month (with no plastic toys attached!).

The strips will be available for the first time to a newsstand audience with ComicScene now distributed in the UK, Ireland, Australia, Canada and the United States.

“This is a great jumping on point for anyone with an interest in comics and comic reading,” says Publisher Tony Foster. “It’s a really exciting development to bring more comics to the newsstands as well as promote the great work being produced out there.”

Strips include “Rok of the Reds“, where aliens meet football, by Judge Dredd co-creator John Wagner, Alan Grant and Dan Cornwell; Lady Flintlock Book 2, for fans of Dick Turpin and Gentleman Jack, by Steve Tanner, Anthony Summey and Bolt-01; “Magatomic Battle Rabbit” by Stu Perrins, Israel Huretas, Aaron Rackley and Dan Rushton; “Slash Moron” by some of the team behind the “Wallace and Gromit” newspaper strips, Bambos Georgiou, the late James Hansen and John Burns; “Gallant and Amos“, a Knight and a Dragon adventures in a medieval world, by Rob Barnes; “Whackoman!”, an off beat superhero antics by Marc Jackson; and Captain Cosmic Book 2, in which the galactic guardians face their most dangerous adversary yet, by Andy W Clift.

Features in this issue include an exclusive extract from Julia Round‘s new book on Misty and British Comics, Gothic For Girls, the new challenges for comic shops, mental health comics, an interview with Batman and Swamp Thing writer Andy Diggle, Anthrax Founder Scott Ian and Metallica’s Kirk Hammett talk about their love for Judge Dredd and comics, former Tiger editor Barrie Tomlinson on 65 years of the comic that bought you “Roy of the Rovers” – plus reviews of small press, indie and Euro comics.

ComicScene Issue 10 is out 21st November 2019. Full details at www.comicscene.org and can be ordered in print or digital at www.getmycomics.com/comicscene

ComicScene is available in selected WHSmith, McColls, Easons (Ireland), Indigo/Chapters (Canada), comic shops and can be ordered in ANY UK and Ireland newsagent, independent retailer or comic shop

Avatar

The founder of downthetubes, John works as a comics editor, writer, as Creative Consultant on the Dan Dare audio adventures for B7 Media, and on promotional work for the Lakes International Comic Art Festival. Working in British comics publishing for over 30 years, his credits include editor of titles such as Doctor Who Magazine, Star Trek Magazine and Babylon 5 Magazine. He also edited the comics anthology STRIP Magazine and edited several audio comics for ROK Comics. He has also edited several comic collections, including volumes of “Charley’s War and “Dan Dare”. He’s the writer of “Crucible”, a creator-owned project with 2000AD artist Smuzz, published on Tapastic; and “Death Duty” and “Skow Dogs” with Dave Hailwood for digital comic 100% Biodegradable.



Categories: British Comics, downthetubes Comics News, downthetubes News, Magazine News

Tags: , , ,

%d bloggers like this: