Broken Frontier Awards 2014 launched, Warren Ellis, Darryl Cunningham, SelfMadeHero among the chosen

Broken Frontier AwardsThe top comics site Broken Frontier has announced the nominees for its 11th annual Broken Frontier Awards. The site’s staff has selected five nominees for each of the 13 categories that comprise the BF Awards, their way to honour the best creators and publications of the past year.

A number of British comic creators and publishers are among the nominees and you can vote for your favourites here. The total amount of votes from the comics community will account for 50% of the final tally, while the votes of the BF staff will account for the other 50%.

Voting is completely anonymous and is open to all fans, creators and industry professionals until Friday 12th December2014 at 11:59 pm PT. The winners of this year’s BF Awards will be announced on Monday 22nd December 2014.

Cast your votes on the ballot below, and invite your friends and fellow fans to do the same by sharing this link:

Best Writer – Mainstream

Jason Aaron (Men Of Wrath, Original Sin, Thor)
Warren Ellis (Moon Knight)
Grant Morrison (The Multiversity)
Scott Snyder (Batman, Superman, The Wake)
G. Willow Wilson (Ms. Marvel)

Best Writer – Independent/Creator-owned

Darryl Cunningham (Supercrash: How To Hijack The Global Economy, Uncle Bob Adventures Vol. 2)
Ray Fawkes (Intersect, The People Inside)
Kieron Gillen (The Wicked + The Divine, Uber)
Liz Prince (Tomboy)
James Tynion IV (The Woods, Memetic)

Best Artist – Mainstream

Michael Allred (Silver Surfer)
Russell Dauterman (Cyclops, Thor)
Robbi Rodriguez (FBP, Edge of Spider-Verse)
Declan Shalvey (Moon Knight)
Andrea Sorrentino (Green Arrow)


The Motherless Oven - Sample Art

The Motherless Oven by Rob Davis


Best Artist – Independent/Creator-owned

Box Brown (Andre The Giant)
Wes Craig (Deadly Class)
INJ Culbard (Brass Sun, Celeste, The Dream-Quest of Unknown Kadath)
Farel Dalrymple (The Wrenchies)
Rob Davis (The Motherless Oven)

Best Colourist

Jordie Bellaire (Magneto, Moon Knight, The Massive, Tooth & Claw)
Elizabeth Breitweiser (Fatale, The Fade Out, Outcast, Velvet)
Matt Hollingsworth (Hawkeye, The Wake, Wytches)
Lee Loughridge (All-New X-Factor, Captain Marvel, Bodies, Deadly Class)
Matthew Wilson (Secret Avengers, The Wicked + The Divine)

Breakout Talent

Michael Cho (Shoplifter)
Jamie Coe (Art Schooled)
Leila del Duca (Shutter)
EdieOP (Dangerfun, Maleficium)
Tula Lotay (Bodies, Supreme: Blue Rose)

Best New Series

Deadly Class (Rick Remender & Wes Craig, Image)
Ms. Marvel (G. Willow Wilson, Adrian Alphona & Jake Wyatt, Marvel)
Princess Ugg (Ted Naifeh, Oni)
Southern Bastards (Jason Aaron & Jason Latour, Image)
The Wicked + The Divine (Kieron Gillen & Jamie McKelvie, Image)

Best Ongoing Series

Lazarus (Greg Rucka & Michael Lark, Image)
Moon Knight (Warren Ellis & Declan Shalvey/Brian Wood & Greg Smallwood, Marvel)
Saga (Brian K. Vaughan & Fiona Staples, Image)
Stray Bullets (David Lapham, Image)
The Bunker (Joshua Hale Fialkov & Joe Infurnari, Oni)




Best Limited Series

Bodies (Si Spencer, Tula Lotay, Phil Winslade, Meghan Hetrick & Dean Ormston, DC/Vertigo)
Brass Sun (Ian Edginton & INJ Culbard, 2000 AD)
Ordinary (Rob Williams & D’Israeli, Titan Comics)
POP! (Curt Pires & Jason Copland, Dark Horse)
The White Suits (Frank J. Barbiere & Toby Cypress, Dark Horse)

Moose Kid Comics #1 - Cover
Best One-Shot

Genesis (Nathan Edmondson & Alison Sampson, Image)
Moose Kid Comics (Jamie Smart et al, self-published)
Over Under Sideways Down (Karrie Fransman, Red Cross)
The Lizard Laughed (Noah Van Sciver, Oily)
Wicked Chicken Queen (Sam Alden, Retrofit)

Best Original Graphic Novel

Beautiful Darkness (Fabien Vehlmann & Kerascoët, Drawn & Quarterly)
Gast (Carol Swain, Fantagraphics)
HOAX: Psychosis Blues (Ravi Thornton, Mark Stafford, Bryan Talbot et al, Ziggy’s Wish)
Sugar Skull (Charles Burns, Pantheon)
This One Summer (Jillian Tamaki & Mariko Tamaki, First Second)

Best Book on Comics

American Comics, Literary Theory, and Religion: The Superhero Afterlife (A. David Lewis, Palgrave Macmillan)
Comics Unmasked (Paul Gravett & John Harris Dunning, British Library)
Graphic Details: Jewish Women’s Confessional Comics in Essays and Interviews (edited by Sarah Lightman, McFarland)
Hellboy: The First 20 Years (Mike Mignola, Dark Horse)
Masterful Marks: Cartoonists Who Changed the World (Monte Beauchamp et al, Simon & Schuster)

Best Publisher

Avery Hill Publishing
BOOM! Studios/Archaia
First Second
Image Comics

• Cast your vote at

Categories: British Comics, British Comics - Current British Publishers, downthetubes Comics News

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Discover more from

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading