2015 Harvey Award Winners Announced

Harvey Awards Winner LogoThis year’s Harvey Awards were presented Saturday night at a banquet in conjunction with Baltimore Comic-Con, with comics from Image Comics, Dark Horse Comics, and BOOM! Studios bringing those US publishers the most awards.

The Harvey Awards are nominated and voted on by comics professionals and the winners were:

Best Writer: Mark Waid, Daredevil, Marvel Comics

Best Artist: Fiona Staples, Saga, Image Comics

Best Cartoonist: Terry Moore, Rachel Rising, Abstract Studios

Best Cover Artist: Fiona Staples, Saga, Image Comics

Best Inker: Danny Miki, Batman, DC Comics

Best Colourist: Dave Stewart, Hellboy in Hell, Dark Horse Comics

Best Letterer: Jack Morelli, Afterlife with Archie, Archie Comic Publications

Most Promising New Talent: Chad Lambert, “Kill Me” from Dark Horse Presents, Dark Horse Comics

Best New Series: Southern Bastards, Image Comics

Best Continuing or Limited Series: Saga, Image Comics

Best Graphic Album Original: Jim Henson’s The Musical Monsters of Turkey Hollow, Archaia/BOOM! Studios

Best Single Issue or Story: “Breaking Out”, Dark Horse Presents #35, Dark Horse Comics

Best Original Graphic Publication for Younger Readers: Lumberjanes, BOOM! Box (BOOM! Studios)

Best Anthology: Dark Horse Presents, Dark Horse Comics

Best Graphic Album Previously Published: Mouse Guard: Baldwin the Brave and Other Tales HC, Archaia/BOOM! Studios

Best Domestic Reprint Project: Steranko Nick Fury Agent of S.H.I.E.L.D. Artist’s Edition, IDW

Best American Edition of Foreign Material: Blacksad: Amarillo, Dark Horse

Best Syndicated Strip or Panel: Dick Tracy by Joe Staton and Mike Curtis, Tribune Media Services

Best Online Comics Work: The Private Eye – another award win for Brian K. Vaughan, Marcos Martin, and Muntsa Vicente, Web: panelsyndicate.com

Special Award for Humour in Comics: Chip Zdarsky, Sex Criminals, Image Comics

Best Biographical, Historical, or Journalistic Presentation: Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: The Ultimate Visual History, Andrew Farago, Insight Editions

Special Award for Excellence in Presentation: Little Nemo: Dream Another Dream, Andrew Carl, Josh O’Neill, and Chris Stevens, Locust Moon Press


Harvey Kurtzman Hall of Fame Award: Will Eisner

Dick Giordano Humanitarian of the Year Award: Denis Kitchen

Hero Initiative Lifetime Achievement Award: Russ Heath

• More about the Harvey Awards: www.harveyawards.org

Categories: downthetubes Comics News, downthetubes News, US Comics

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

%d bloggers like this: