Inkwell Awards ballot opens to find and honour favourite comic book inkers

Inkwell Awards Logo

The Inkwell Awards, a US non-profit organization devoted to educating and promoting the art of inking, is inviting the public worldwide to vote for the industry’s best of the past year.

The official public ballot will be available on the Inkwell Awards’ homepage from 15th through to 30th April. Voting is open to everyone, whether fans or professional peers. The winners will be announced at the live awards ceremony at Heroes Con in Charlotte, North Carolina (20th-22nd June 2014) on Saturday 21st at 12.30pm.

As with last year, the ballot will still list the nominees for the Joe Sinnott Hall of Fame lifetime achievement award, which were chosen by the internal and separate Hall of Fame Nomination Committee (made up of the core committee, former committee members, ambassadors, contributors and existing Hall of Fame award recipients). To avoid a “popularity contest” where recent names have more influence than past masters, the two winners have been chosen by the HoF Nomination Committee rather than the public and will be announced at the ceremony. Current nominees are listed as a courtesy.

The cover of Journey into Mystery #87, inked by Dick Ayers, who was one of two creators honoured with entry into the Inkwell Awards "Hall of Fame" last year. Art © Marvel Comics.

The cover of Journey into Mystery #87, pencilled by Jack Kirby and inked by Dick Ayers, who was one of two creators honoured with entry into the Inkwell Awards “Hall of Fame” last year. Art © Marvel Comics.

Past Hall of Fame award recipients include Joe Sinnott, Terry Austin, Dick Giordano, Klaus Janson , Al Williamson, Wallace Wood, Kevin Nowlan, Mark McKenna, Scott Williams, and last year, Dick Ayers, perhaps best known for his Marvel Comics work, and DC Comics inker Murphy Anderson.

“We’re so excited for this event, where everyone’s hard work will pay off and the best of the best ink artists and their work will be recognized,” said Bob Almond, founder and director of The Inkwell Awards (AKA “The Inkwells”).

“Inkers have their own fans and followers, and often go unsung or glossed over in traditional awards events. Ours caters specifically to ink artists and allows several to be recognized and appreciated in various categories.”

Ballots and instructions can be viewed at The Inkwells’ web site beginning on 15th April. A direct link will additionally be posted on the Awards Facebook group page, where people may also ask any questions.

The Inkwell Awards is an official 501(c)3 non-profit organization whose mission is to educate and promote the art form of comic-book inking, as well as annually recognize and award the best ink artists and their work. Now in its seventh year, the organization is overseen by a committee of industry professionals and assisted by various professional ambassadors and numerous contributors. They sponsor the Dave Simons Inkwell Memorial Scholarship Fund for the Kubert School and host the Joe Sinnott Hall of Fame Award.

• Web site:
This is a site well worth bookmarking – not just for the awards but for a host of inking resources including links to interviews with inkers and artists, inker samples, tutorials and much more

• Inkwell Awards Facebook group page


Categories: downthetubes Comics News

Tags: , , , , ,

Discover more from

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading