Neil Gaiman’s “Closing Time” features in new horror anthology

Hauntings AnthologyA short story by award-winning British comics writer Neil Gaiman features in Hauntings, a spine-tingling horror anthology published by Tachyon Publications and compiled by Ellen Datlow, an acclaimed editor of the genre that collects the most chilling ghost stories from the past 25 years.

The human obsession with the mysteries of the afterlife is explored in these supernatural tales of haunted houses, lost souls, unexplained phenomena, and “good” neighbours.

Neil Gaiman‘s “Closing Time” is a troubling tale recounted by an elderly man on a cold drizzly night in London while Joyce Carol Oates‘ “Haunted” is a chilling story of two young girls drawn to abandoned houses and what they find in one.

Francis Wardwell is eager to inform readers that everything they think they know about ghosts is wrong in Peter Straub‘s “Hunger: An Introduction,” and George R. R. Martin‘s “Remembering Melody” stresses the importance of keeping promises – no matter the consequences.

Fans of a good ghost story will find this collection the ideal go-to for chills, which also includes “The Horn”, short story from Doctor Who script writer and ace British horror writer Stephen Gallagher, first published way back in 1989.

New York-based editor Ellen Datlow has been editing science fiction, fantasy, and horror short fiction for almost thirty years. She was fiction editor of OMNI Magazine and SCIFICTION, and has edited more than fifty anthologies, including the horror half of the long-running classic Year’s Best Fantasy and Horror series, and is continuing to edit the Best Horror of the Year series.

Ellen has received nine World Fantasy Awards as well as the Bram Stoker, International Horror Guild, Shirley Jackson, and Hugo Awards. She is the co-host of the Fantastic Fiction KGB reading series, a legendary nexus of genre fiction luminaries and new talents.

Here’s the full list of included stories:

Ellen Datlow – “Introduction”
Pat Cadigan – “Eenie, Meenie, Ipsateenie”
Dale Bailey – “Hunger: A Confession”
E. Michael Lewis  – “Cargo”
Lucius Shepard – “Delta Sly Honey”
David Morrell – “Nothing Will Hurt You”
Caitlin R. Kiernan – “The Ammonite Violin (Murder Ballad No. 4)”
Joyce Carol Oates – “Haunted”
Elizabeth Hand – “The Have-Nots”
Neil Gaiman – “Closing Time”
F. Paul Wilson – “Anna”
Jonathan Carroll – “Mr. Fiddlehead”
Terry Dowling – “The Fooly”
Paul Walther – “The Toll”
Simon Kurt Unsworth – “The Pennine Tower Restaurant”
Connie Willis – “Distress Call”
Stephen Gallagher – “The Horn”
Michael Marshall Smith – “Everybody Goes”
Richard Bowes – “Transfigured Night”
James P. Blaylock – “Hula Ville”
Jeffrey Ford – “The Bedroom Light”
Gemma Files – “Spectral Evidence”
Kelly Link – “Two Houses”
Adam L. G. Nevill – “Where Angels Come In”
Peter Straub – “Hunger: An Introduction”

More about “Hauntings” on the Tachyon Publications web site

Categories: British Comics - Books

Tags: , , , , ,

Discover more from

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading