Rebellion, Kieron Gillen and Stephanie Hans win British Fantasy Awards

Rebellion Publishing, publishers of 2000AD and Judge Dredd Megazine have been announced as the winners of the British Fantasy Award by the British Fantasy Society for Best Independent Press, the first time a predominantly comic book publisher has won that award.

Rebellion also won Best Anthology for one of their prose publications, New Suns: Original Speculative Fiction by People of Colour, while Kieron Gillen and Stephanie Hans won the “Best Comic” Award for Die, published by Image Comics, and Ben Baldwin won the award for “Best Artist”.

This year’s winners were announced last night online, via the British Fantasy Society YouTube Channel.

Presented annually by the British Fantasy Society, the British Fantasy Awards (originally known as August Derleth Fantasy Awards), the membership of the BFS vote to determine the shortlists of the awards, the winners being decided by juries.

Best Fantasy Novel (the Robert Holdstock Award)

The Bone Ships, RJ Barker

WINNER: The Bone Ships, RJ Barker (Orbit)

• The Ten Thousand Doors of January, Alix E. Harrow (Orbit)
• The Migration, Helen Marshall (Titan)
• The Poison Song, Jen Williams (Headline)

Best Horror Novel (the August Derleth Award)

The Reddening, Adam Nevill

WINNER: The Reddening, Adam Nevill (Ritual Limited)

• The Plague Stones, James Brogden (Titan)
• The Institute, Stephen King (Hodder & Stoughton)
• The Twisted Ones, T. Kingfisher (Titan)
• Mistletoe, Alison Littlewood (Jo Fletcher)
• The Migration, Helen Marshall (Titan)

Best Novella

Ormeshadow, Priya Sharma

WINNER: Ormeshadow, Priya Sharma ( Publishing)

• “Butcher’s Table”, Nathan Ballingrud (Wounds)
• Ragged Alice, Gareth L. Powell ( Publishing)
• The Deep, Rivers Solomon, Daveed Diggs, William Hutson & Jonathan Snipes (Gallery)
• The Survival of Molly Southbourne, Tade Thompson ( Publishing)
• The Ascent to Godhood, JY Yang ( Publishing)

Best Short Story

WINNER: “The Pain-Eater’s Daughter”, Laura Mauro (Sing Your Sadness Deep)

• “Dendrochronology”, Penny Jones (The Woods)
• “I Say (I Say, I Say)”, Robert Shearman (Tales from the Shadow Booth, Vol. 3)
• “Tomorrow, When I Was Young“, Julie Travis (Eibonvale)

Best Collection

Sing Your Sadness Deep by Laura Munro

WINNER: Sing Your Sadness Deep, Laura Mauro (Undertow)

• This House of Wounds, Georgina Bruce (Undertow)
• Of Wars, and Memories, and Starlight, Aliette de Bodard (Subterranean)
• The Boughs Withered When I Told Them My Dreams, Maura McHugh (NewCon)
• Growing Things, Paul Tremblay (Titan)

Best Anthology

New Suns: Original Speculative Fiction by People of Colour

WINNER: New Suns: Original Speculative Fiction for People of Colour, Nisi Shawl, ed. (Solaris)

• A Secret Guide to Fighting Elder Gods, Jennifer Brozek, ed. (Pulse)
• Once Upon a Parsec: The Book of Alien Fairy Tales, David Gullen, ed. (NewCon)
• Wonderland, Marie O’Regan & Paul Kane, eds. (Titan)
• The Woods, Phil Sloman, ed. (Hersham Horror)
• The Big Book of Classic Fantasy, Ann & Jeff VanderMeer, eds. (Vintage)

Best Independent Press

2000AD 2220 Cover

WINNER: Rebellion

• Aqueduct
• Black Shuck
• Luna
• NewCon
• Undertow

Best Non-Fiction

The Dark Fantastic: Race and the Imagination from Harry Potter to the Hunger Games

WINNER: The Dark Fantastic: Race and the Imagination from Harry Potter to the Hunger Games, Ebony Elizabeth Thomas (New York University Press)

• Joanna Russ, Gwyneth Jones (University of Illinois Press)
• The Pleasant Profession of Robert A. Heinlein, Farah Mendlesohn (Unbound)
• “Notes from the Borderland”, Lynda E Rucker (Black Static 9-10/20)
• The Full Lid, Alasdair Stuart
• Coffinmaker’s Blues: Collected Writings on Terror, Stephen Volk (PS)

Best Magazine / Periodical

Fiyah 13


• Black Static
• The Dark
• Gingernuts of Horror
• Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction
• Shoreline of Infinity

Best Artist

"Bird Box" – Ben Baldwin's cover design for the signed limited edition of a novel by Josh Malerman. Published by SST Publications
“Bird Box” – Ben Baldwin’s cover design for the signed limited edition of a novel by Josh Malerman. Published by SST Publications

WINNER: Ben Baldwin

• Vince Haig
• Jackie Morris
• David Rix

Best Comic / Graphic Novel

DIE Volume Two

WINNER: DIE, Kieron Gillen & Stephanie Hans (Image)

• Basketful of Heads #1, Joe Hill, Leomacs & Dave Stewart (DC)
• The Ozone Diary, Tero Mielonen & Pentti Otsamo (Luna)
• B.P.R.D. The Devil You Know, Vol. 3: Ragna Rok, Mike Mignola, Scott Allie, Laurence Campbell, et al. (Dark Horse)
• 2000AD, Matt Smith, ed. (Rebellion)
• DCeased #1-6, Tom Taylor, Trevor Hairsine, Stefano Gaudiano, et al. (DC)

Best Audio

Podcastle Podcast

WINNER: PodCastle

• Breaking the Glass Slipper
• PseudoPod
• Speculative Spaces

Best Film / Television Production


• Game of Thrones: “The Long Night”
• Watchmen: “It’s Summer and We’re Running Out of Ice”
• The Witcher: “Rare Species”

Best Newcomer (the Sydney J Bounds Award)

Ta-Nehisi Coates - The Water Dancer

WINNER: Ta-Nehisi Coates, for The Water Dancer (One World)

• Alix E. Harrow, for The Ten Thousand Doors of January (Orbit)
• Penny Jones, for Suffer Little Children (Black Shuck)
• Tamsyn Muir, for Gideon the Ninth ( Publishing)
• Nina Oram, for The Joining (Luna)

Karl Edward Wagner Award

Craig Lockley

RPG Reviews Editor for the British Fantasy Society, Gamer and English Tutor

Winners were chosen by jury, except for the special award (the Karl Edward Wagner Award), which was chosen by the BFS committee.

The British Fantasy Society is online at

Categories: Art and Illustration, Audio, Books, British Comics, downthetubes News, Other Worlds, Television, US Comics

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,