Bob Clampett Humanitarian Award announced for Thought Bubble Director Lisa Wood

Independent publishers Edgardo Miranda-Rodriguez, Kyung Jeon-Miranda and Thought Bubble Director Lisa Wood – who creates comics as Tula Lotay – will receive the 2019 Bob Clampett Humanitarian Award at this year’s San Diego Comic Con, created to honour people in comics and the popular arts who have worked to help others.

Edgardo Miranda-Rodriguez

Edgardo Miranda-Rodriguez

Edgardo Miranda-Rodriguez, creator of the Puerto Rican superhero La Borinqueña, independently published the benefit anthology Ricanstruction: Reminiscing & Rebuilding Puerto Rico, featuring DC Comics characters teaming up with La Borinqueña as a response to Hurricane Maria.

Ricanstruction has thus far raised over $200,000 for the La Borinqueña Grants Program, run by Kyung Jeon-Miranda, awarding grants last fall to local grassroots organizations in Puerto Rico. This summer they both continue their philanthropic efforts to award more grants.

Lisa Wood. Photo: Harper W. Harris

Lisa Wood. Photo: Harper W. Harris

Lisa Wood created Thought Bubble, the annual comics festival moving to Harrogate this November, which supports a young people’s comic book awards at select schools, special autism services, Rainbow Age LGBTQ reading group events, a two-day academic conference, an annual anthology to support a disadvantaged children’s charity, and distributes free graphic novels to libraries..

As Tula Lotay, Lisa’s many acclaimed credits include Supreme: Blue Rose, published by Image Comics and Bodies by Vertigo Comics.

Bob Clampett

Bob Clampett

Launched in 1984, Comic-Con International’s Humanitarian Award is presented in the name of famed animator Bob Clampett, who created the TV series Beany and Cecil, designed such popular characters as Porky Pig and Tweety Bird, and directed 84 classic Warner Brothers cartoons. Clampett was a regular guest a Comic-Con in the 1970s and early 1980s.

After his death in 1984, the humanitarian award was created to honour those people in comics and the popular arts who have worked to help others. The recipients are chosen by the Comic-Con committee. Past winners are diverse, including Comics4Kids’ Frederick Joseph last year, Neil Gaiman, George Perez and many more.

In previous years, the recipients of the Clampett Award were not announced ahead of time, but this year the committee decided to start letting recipients know about the honour in advance.

The awards will be presented by Bob’s daughter, Ruth Clampett, during the Eisner Awards ceremony on Friday 19th July 2019 at the Hilton Bayfront Hotel.

Congratulations to all the winners.

More information about the Bob Clampett Awards here on the San Diego Comic-Con web site

Categories: downthetubes Comics News, downthetubes News, Events

Tags: , , , , , ,

Discover more from

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading