“Matinee”, featured in Something Wicked 2019, nominated for Australian Shadows Award

A panel from “Matinee” by Emmet O’Cuana and David Parsons

Matinee”, a short strip created by Emmet O’Cuana and artist David Parsons that featured in the FutureQuake Press title Something Wicked 2019, has reached the finals of the 2019 Australian Shadows Awards.

The nominees also include DCeased, written by Tom Taylor, with art by Trevor Hairsine and many others.

“Matinee” was just one of several terrific strips in the horror anthology, and copies are still available here.

The Australian Shadows Awards, run by the Australasian Horror Writers Asscociation, celebrate the finest in horror and dark fiction published by an Australasian within the calendar year. Works are judged on the overall effect of a work – the skill, delivery, and lasting resonance.

Entries are open across seven categories, including: the Paul Haines Award for Long Fiction (novelettes and novellas) in honour of the New Zealand/Australian author Paul Haines; The Rocky Wood Award for Non-fiction and Criticism named after former HWA president and AHWA member Rocky Wood; short fiction; novels, collected works; edited works; poetry and graphic novels/comics (for works written by an Australian or New Zealand writer).

“Good luck to Emmet and David,” say the FQP team. “This is a fine strip and we are very pleased to see it doing well in this forum.”

Also nominated are The Eldritch Kid: The Bone War, a “weird western”, written by Christian D. Read with art by Paul Mason; Geebung Polo Club which featured in Skellington #1, written by Jason Fischer with art by Shauna O’Meara, adapted from a Banjo Patterson poem; and the DC Comics series DCeased, written by Tom Taylor, with art by Trevor Hairsine, Stefano Gaudiano, Laura Braga, Richard Friend, James Harren, Darick Robertson, Trevor Scott and Neil Edwards.

Previous winners of Australian Shadows Awards have included Greg McLean, Aaron Sterns, Lee Battersby, Terry Dowling, Paul Haines, Brett McBean, Kirstyn McDermott, Bob Franklin, Kaaron Warren, Will Elliott, Deborah Biancotti and Amanda Spedding.

Buy a copy of Something Wicked 2019 here

Check out the full 2019 Australian Shadows Award nominees here

Categories: downthetubes Comics News, downthetubes News

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Discover more from downthetubes.net

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading