Breaking News
Home / Features / Reviews

Reviews

In Review: Marvel’s new Nick Fury is a positive tonic

Nick Fury #1 - Nick Fury by ACO

Writer: James Robinson Penciler: ACO Inker: Hugo Petrus Colourist: Rachelle Rosenberg Letterer: Travis Lanham Publisher: Marvel Comics Release Date: 19th April 2017 The Book:The world is a dangerous place. And there’s danger in drawing attention to your plans. When S.H.I.E.L.D. needs a lone agent to infiltrate, capture and remain anonymous, there’s no one better than NICK FURY. An all-new era ... Read More »

Sneak Preview: “Old Farts” by Sorina Vazelina

Peculiar Moments of Silence by Sorina Vazelina

Written and Illustrated by Sorina Vazelina Full Colour – Published by Centrala Books Something is crawling in to my brain, something colourful and crazy. This is an anthology of work by Sorina Vazelina and published by Centrala books in the United Kingdom. Beware. I intend to use drugs references throughout! The book starts off as an examination of growing old ... Read More »

Gareth Brookes brilliant “A Thousand Coloured Castles” gets Gosh launch on Thursday

A Thousand Coloured Castles - Cover

Top British comics creator Gareth Brookes is hosting a launch party for his new graphic novel A Thousand Coloured Castles, published by Myriad Editions, at Gosh! Comics in London later this week – and everyone’s invited. This book is, simply, genius. Disturbing and unsettling to read, but a great story, it’s well deserving of the kudos it has already earned and I ... Read More »

Borderliners is a Real Treat for fans of The Prisoner and Phillip K. Dick

Borderlinners

Manchester-based writer/artist Brian Gorman‘s second graphic novel, Borderliners: True Realities, was published by Invisible Six Ltd a few months ago. I’m ashamed to confess he handed me a copy last October, but it’s taken me this long to escape The Village (translation: catch up on an inordinate amount of book reading) to mention it on downthetubes. Which is very remiss ... Read More »

In Review: Colossie Issue One (Vault Comics)

Colossi Issue One - Cover

Colossi Issue One Script by Ricardo Mo Art by Alberto Muriel Colours by Stelladia Letters by HdE Full Colour – Published by Vault Comics – $3.99 The Book: When Trans Atmos Shuttle 34 disappears into a wormhole, its pilot and passengers are launched into an adventure of gigantic proportions. Lost in an oversized parallel universe, the group must put aside ... Read More »

In Review: The Little Mermaid by Metaphrog

Little Mermaid 001 SNIP

Metaphrog’s latest hardback adaptation of a Hans Christian Andersen fairytale, The Little Mermaid, is now out from the US publisher Papercutz. Adapted by John Chalmers and illustrated by Sandra Marrs, the Franco-Scottish couple who make up the Metaphrog team, the pair began their adaptations of Hans Christian Andersen’s original fairy tales with The Little Match Girl which they adapted in ... Read More »

In Review: DC Universe Rebirth – Batwoman #1

DC Universe Rebirth: Batwoman #1 - Cover

Batwoman – The Many Arms of Death (Part 1) Story: Marguerite Bennett and James Tynion IV Art: Steve Epting Publisher: DC Comics Editor: Dave Welgosz & Chris Conroy Pages: 22 Colour Pages Price: $2.99 Release Date (Print & Digital): 15th March 2017 Age Rating: Teen A lead takes Batwoman to a Mystery Island where her past is revealed… The Story: ... Read More »

In Review: Cosmos & Other Stories

Cosmos & Other Stories Art by Rozi Hathaway SNIP

By Rozi Hathaway Publisher: Good Comics The Book: A collection of short stories about love and longing… if you’ve ever been in a crowd, felt the ache of absence, or looked for meaning ion the constellations, then this collection will speak to you. The Review: It’s not often that a piece of art touches you in in such a profound ... Read More »

In Review: The Art of Reginald Heade

The Art of Reginald Heade

By Stephen James Walker Published by Telos Given the all-ages appeal of downthetubes, how best to review The Art of Reginald Heade? This artist’s impossible women with their hourglass figures and dresses so flimsy that they defy disbelief should be well-known to all fans of British illustration. Yet, while his illustrations are well-known, the man himself is much less well-known ... Read More »

Photo Review: The BEYOND 2000AD Exhibition at London’s Orbital Comics

Beyond 2000AD - Orbital Comics 2017 - Wall 1

  London’s Orbital Comics – the UK’s one and only Eisner Award-winning comic shop – is currently hosting what sounds like it could be an extremely dull and pretentious look at 2000AD. “Beyond 2000AD – The Broader Cultural Impact of the Galaxy’s Greatest Comic” certainly sounds like the theme of a comics dissertation, after all. But fear not! Twee this ... Read More »

Optimization WordPress Plugins & Solutions by W3 EDGE