San Diego Comic Con 2016: Open Online Badge Registration announced for Saturday 20th February

SDCC 2016 Badge Registration Image

Report by Leonard Sultana of An Englishman in San Diego

So it is, and so it shall be – Comic-Con International have announced that San Diego Comic-Con badges will go on sale to the general public next Saturday, 20th February at 5.00pm GMT (9.00am PT / Midday ET), with the EPIC Registration Waiting Room opening an hour earlier. This will most likely be the one and only opportunity for eligible people to get to go, as hundreds of thousands of people descend on the Badge Sale process and sell out the event within hours.

For the last couple of years, CCI have not held a second follow-up badge sale – due to their ability to allocate the small number of returned badges to their own requirements – and so next Saturday is your Last Chance Saloon if you are wanting to attend the Biggest, Most Awesome Nerd Party On The Planet™.

But it’s only going to be available to those who have been prepared enough to have a valid Member ID in place – “…you can’t be any geek off the street, gotta be handy with the [Member ID] if you know what I mean, earn your keep…!”

As has been the case for the last three years, the Badge Sale will consist of a two-step process:

  • applicants will enter a Waiting Room, opened one hour before the badge buying system opens (at 8am PT / 11am ET / 4pm GMT)…
  • … then applicants will be randomly selected to enter registration sessions to take fifteen minutes to get their hands on their prized Golden Tickets. (Editors Note: they’re not actually golden. Sorry. We suggested it to CCI but they ain’t buyin’.)

It’s going to be pretty much the same buying process as introduced in 2013, with one or two minor tweaks – check out this video, posted by CCI back in 2014 for a primer.

Comic-Con 2014 Attendee Preregistration from Comic-Con International on Vimeo.

I’ll be talking about the process over on – and all of the the changes that have been introduced for 2016 – in this weekend’s Talkin’ Comic-Con: A Cup O’ Tea… show: do tune in to get the full rundown on what will transpire next Saturday. And, of course, make sure you take the time to go through the update about tickets, posted on the CCI website, detailing the process, which is also posted on my web site.

For the full announcement, read more here

Report by Leonard Sultana over on An Englishman at San Diego, re-posted with permission

One of many guest posts for downthetubes.



Categories: downthetubes Comics News, downthetubes News, Events

Tags: , , ,

%d bloggers like this: