Tripwire Awards celebrate The Best In Comic Talent

Tripwire Awards 2021 Banner

The winners of the third Annual Tripwire Awards were announced by publisher Joel Meadows and Convention Collective’s Leonard Sultana at the Cartoon Museum in London last night, in front of a live audience. Congratulations to all the winners – who, hang on, include us,, in the category for Best Comics Related Website/ Publications. Thank you to everyone who voted for us – and thank you to everyone who contributes to the site.

Tripwire is the UK’s pre-eminent comics and genre magazine and website. Launched in 1992 as a print magazine, it switched to the web in 2015. In 2021, it brought back its print magazine as a once a year special. It has interviewed many major figures in the worlds of comics, film and TV.

The judges on this year’s Tripwire Awards, who created the shortlist voted on by comic readers around the world were Olly MacNamee, Senior Editor at, journalist and MCM panel host Louise Saul, Tim Cundle from the Mass Movement web site, Joseph P. Illidge, Executive Editor at Heavy Metal, and Tripwire publisher Joel Meadows.

Acknowledging a difficult year for everyone since the last Awards, Joel also reflected on the success of many comics projects through 2021, despite the Pandemic, and also teased the news that he is working on a new major comics event, coming in 2022. Co-host Leonard Sultana also noted the industry’s resilience in the face of the economic impact of the Pandemic, and that no-one really knew what might survive as its grip on creators and publishers tightened.

Fortunately, the year saw the release of many great comic projects, and although not without loss, most comic creators have, hopefully, weathered the storm.

Without further ado, here are all the nominees and winners…

Best Writer

Ram V (Swamp Thing / Catwoman – DC Comics)
Kelly Thompson (Captain Marvel, Marvel Comics)
David F Walker (Bitter Root – Image Comics)
James Tynion IV (The Department Of Truth – Image Comics)

Winner: Al Ewing (The Immortal Hulk – Marvel Comics / We Only Find Them When They’re Dead – BOOM! Studios)

Immortal Hulk #26

Best Artist

Martin Simmonds (The Department Of Truth – Image Comics)
Stephanie Hans (DIE – Image Comics)
Tommy Lee Edwards (Grendel Kentucky – AWA)
Esad Ribic (The Eternals – Marvel Comics)

Winner: Liam Sharp (The Green Lantern – DC Comics)

Green Lantern #1 - cover by Liam Sharp
Green Lantern #1 – cover by Liam Sharp

Best Cover Artist

Jen Bartel
Olivier Coipel
Stanley ‘Artgerm’ Lau
Art Adams

Winner: Joelle Jones

Mockingbird by Joelle Jones

Best Colourist

Marte Garcia (S.W.O.R.D. – Marvel Comics)
Matt Hollingsworth (Spider-Man Spider’s Shadow – Marvel Comics)
Mike Spicer (Swamp Thing – DC Comics)
Dave Stewart (Black Hammer – Dark Horse Comics)

Winner: Jordie Bellaire (Headlopper – Image Comics / Batman – DC Comics)

Colouring by Jordie Bellaire

Best Letterer

Clayton Cowles (Warhammer 40K – Marvel Comics)
Todd Klein (Batman: Creature Of The Night – DC Comics)
Ed Dukeshire (Blacking Out)
Tom Orzechowski (Spawn, Image)

Winner: Hassan Otsmane-Elhaou

Best New Series

The Other History Of The DC Universe (John Ridley / Various Artists – DC Comics)
The Swamp Thing (Ram V/ Mike Perkins – DC Comics)
Second Coming (Mark Russell / Richard Pace – AHOY Comics)
Space Bastards (Eric Peterson / Joe Aubrey / Darick Robertson – Humanoids)

Winner: The Department Of Truth (James Tynion IV/ Martin Simmonds – Image Comics)

The Department Of Truth (James Tynion IV/ Martin Simmonds – Image Comics)

Best Publisher

DC Comics
Dark Horse Comics
Aftershock Comics

Winner: Image Comics 

Best New Talent

Sayra Begum
Jamal Campbell
Jeff McComsey
German Ponce

Winner: Stephanie Phillips – currently working on Wonder Woman Evolution

Wonder Woman Evolution #1 of 8

Best Original Graphic Novel

• Black Panther Party: A Graphic Novel History (David F. Walker / Marcus Kwame Anderson – Penguin/Random House)
• Reckless (Ed Brubaker / Sean Phillips – Image Comics)
• Infinitum (Tim Fielder – Harper Collins)
• Blue In Green (Ram V / Anand RK – Image Comics)

Winner: Monsters (Barry Windsor-Smith – Fantagraphics Books/ Vintage Books)

Monsters by Barry Windsor-Smith

Best Collection 

• Conan: Serpent War (Marvel)
• The Trigan Empire Volume 2 (Rebellion)
• Outer Darkness/ Chew (Image)
• Empyre (Marvel)

Winner: Black Hammer: Library Edition Volume 2 (Dark Horse)

Black Hammer: Library Edition Volume 2

Best Comics Related Website/ Publications

The Comics Beat
The Comics Journal
Comic Book Resources

Winner: DownTheTubes – yes, us! Thank you!

Best Small Press/ Independent – UK

BHP Publishing
Soaring Penguin Press
Self Made Hero
Time Bomb Comics

Winner: Titan Comics

Best Small Press/ Independent – US

Valiant Comics
Dynamite Editions
Magnetic Press
Black Mask Studios

Winner: Vault Comics

Best Editor

Brady Webb
Rachel Fulton
Ben Abernathy
Tom Peyer

Winner: Karen Berger

Best Digital Comics

• The Red Hook: Blackout by Dean Haspiel
• by Roger Langridge
• King’s Ransom by Louise Simonson and Jan Duursema
• Batman: Legends Of The Dark Knight by various

Winner: Quarantine Comix by Rachael Smith (now available as a collection, published by Icon Books)

Quarantine Comix: A Memoir of Life in Lockdown

Best Crowdfunding Campaign

Nocterra by Scott Snyder and Tony S Daniel
Blacking Out by Chip Mosher and Peter Krause
Palomino by Stephan Franck
Pop Kill by Jimmy Palmiotti, Dave Johnson and Juan Santacruz

Winner: Brzrkr by Keanu Reeves, Matt Kindt and Ron Garney

Person Of The Year

Kevin Smith
Ross Richie
Eric Stephenson
John Freeman

Winner: Marie Javins

The Roll Of Honour

Winners: Grant Morrison, Bill Sienkiewicz

• Check out Tripwire online at

Categories: British Comics, Comics, downthetubes Comics News, downthetubes News, Events, Site Announcements, US Comics

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Discover more from

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading