Not a Number 2018 - Poster SNIP

Not a Number, a Patrick McGoohan retrospective, on next month

For any of you interested in the cult tv series The Prisoner or enjoying Titan Comics new series, there’s a Patrick McGoohan retrospective even taking place at Elstree next month. Organised by The Unmutual, a The Prisoner fan web site, and Quoit Media Limited, it’s a small event in Borehamwood on the evening of 23rdContinue reading Not a Number, a Patrick McGoohan retrospective, on next month

The Prisoner Logo

There’s no escape: The Prisoner is returning to comics

Not for the first time, the short-lived, highly regarded 1960s TV series The Prisoner is being adapted for comics. Titan Comics has announced they are to publish all-new comic books written by Peter Milligan, drawn by Colin Lorimer,  to celebrate the 50th Anniversary of classic cult phenomenon, in partnership with ITV Studios Global Entertainment. TheContinue reading There’s no escape: The Prisoner is returning to comics

Remembering Disney’s dalliance with terror – Doctor Syn retrospective announced

A special retrospective of a classic Disney-told tale starring Danger Man and The Prisoner star Patrick McGoohan is to get a retrospective in Hollywood in October. The Scarecrow’s story was filmed on location in the Romney Marsh area and at Pinewood Studios, England in 1963. It starred Patrick McGoohan as a humble vicar by dayContinue reading Remembering Disney’s dalliance with terror – Doctor Syn retrospective announced

Borderlinners

Borderliners is a Real Treat for fans of The Prisoner and Phillip K. Dick

Manchester-based writer/artist Brian Gorman‘s second graphic novel, Borderliners: True Realities, was published by Invisible Six Ltd a few months ago. I’m ashamed to confess he handed me a copy last October, but it’s taken me this long to escape The Village (translation: catch up on an inordinate amount of book reading) to mention it onContinue reading Borderliners is a Real Treat for fans of The Prisoner and Phillip K. Dick

In Memoriam: Patrick McGoohan

downthetubes is sorry to report the passing of legendary American actor, writer and director Patrick McGoohan, star of the 1960s secret agent series’ Danger Man, playing John Drake, and. later, The Prisoner, starring as the rebellious Number Six — a role he never escaped. “Words alone cannot sum up the man, his career, and theContinue reading In Memoriam: Patrick McGoohan