Farshore announces official Winnie-the-Pooh sequel by Jane Riordan and Mark Burgess

Winnie-the-Pooh: Tales from the Forest

Farshore, an imprint of HarperCollins UK borne from their acquisition of Egmont Books (formerly Egmont UK Ltd), has announced an official Winnie-the-Pooh sequel, written by Jane Riordan, illustrated by Mark Burgess.

Due for release in September, Winnie-the-Pooh: Tales from the Forest brings the beloved character, along with Christopher Robin and his group of woodland friends, back for a new generation of readers. It will be published initially as a special collector’s edition signed and numbered by the author, presented in a slipcase.

Farshore, who publish a many of the works by Winnie-the-Pooh’s original creator, A.A. Milne, say the new collection, published in hardback, will see Christopher Robin and friends go on adventures in seven new stories, set after the timeless tales in Winnie-the-Pooh and The House at Pooh Corner.

The new stories will be written by Jane Riordan in the style of A.A. Milne, author of the authorised prequel Once There Was a Bear, as well as Winnie-the-Pooh Meets the Queen, and the recently-published Winnie-the-Pooh Meets the King, all Farshore, celebrating the coronation. Her new tales have proven quite a hit, if the book charts are anything to go by.

The stories take readers back to much-loved places such as Poohsticks Bridge and Eeyore’s Gloomy Place, as well as featuring trips to the British Museum and the Tower of London, and, while aimed at five to nine-year-olds, are intended to be enjoyed by both new and long-standing Winnie-the-Pooh fans, of all ages.

Winnie-the-Pooh and friends are brought to life with beautiful illustrations by Mark Burgess, in the style of E.H. Shepard’s original iconic decorations. Mark has been an artist of children’s books for the last 25 years and illustrated Riordan’s prequel Once There Was a Bear, as well as Return to the Hundred Acre Wood, which was written by David Benedictus, as well as the celebratory collection, The Best Bear in All the World. He also works as a writer and computer programmer, and designs special warm places for his cat to sleep.

The Bookseller reports John Packard, publishing director, acquired UK and Commonwealth English Language rights from Stephanie Thwaites, head of the book department at Curtis Brown.

“Pooh and friends are as much a part of childhood now as they were almost a century ago: they remain wonderful stories to share aloud with children and to inspire a love of reading,” says Cally Poplak, executive publisher at Farshore. “So, as we look forward to celebrating the centenary in 2026, Farshore is delighted to be publishing this utterly charming new collection of adventures in the Hundred Acre Wood by Jane Riordan and Mark Burgess, who have truly captured the magic of the original stories by A.A. Milne and E.H. Shepard.”

A.A. Milne was born in London in 1882. He began his literary career as editor of Granta magazine, and was assistant editor of Punch, later writing plays and poetry. He based Winnie-the-Pooh and his friends Piglet, Eeyore, Tigger, Kanga and Roo on the real nursery toys of his son Christopher Robin.

In 1925, Winnie-the-Pooh made his first appearance in a Christmas story in the London Evening News. The following year, Winnie-the-Pooh was published and was an instant success, as was The House at Pooh Corner, in 1928. Since then, Pooh has become a world-famous bear, and Milne’s stories have been translated in seventy-two languages.

Winnie-the-Pooh: Tales from the Forest will be published on 28th September 2023 (Amazon UK Affiliate Link)

Follow Jane Riordan on Twitter

Mark Burgess is online at markburgess.co.uk | Twitter

A. A. Milne books published – a guide on the Farshore web site | Follow Farshore on Twitter

Categories: Books, downthetubes News, Other Worlds

Tags: , , , , , ,

Discover more from downthetubes.net

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading