Nebula Awards Winners 2020 Announced

Nebula Awards Logo

The Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America announced winners of the 2020 Nebula Awards this weekend, at the 56th Annual Nebula Banquet during the 2021 SFWA Nebula Conference.

Nalo Hopkinson
Nalo Hopkinson

Author and editor Nalo Hopkinson became the 37th Damon Knight Grand Master, for her contributions to the literature of science fiction and fantasy.

The Damon Knight Memorial Grand Master Award recognises “lifetime achievement in science fiction and/or fantasy.” Hopkinson joins the Grand Master ranks alongside such legends as C. J. Cherryh, Peter S. Beagle, Ursula K. Le Guin, Anne McCaffrey, Ray Bradbury, and Joe Haldeman.

Connie Willis.Photo Credit: Kyle Cassidy
Connie Willis. Photo Credit: Kyle Cassidy

The Kevin O’Donnell, Jr. Service to SFWA Award was presented to Connie Willis, for her outstanding work on behalf of the organisation.

Connie Willis is the author of Doomsday Book, Crosstalk, and Passage, among many other fictional works. She has won eleven Hugo Awards and seven Nebula Awards. In 2009, Willis was inducted into the Science Fiction Hall of Fame. She was named a Damon Knight Grand Master by SFWA in 2012. Even with that remarkable career, Willis has consistently made time to volunteer for SFWA in a variety of capacities, including mentorship and several committee roles.

Jarvis Sheffield, Ben Bova and Rachel Caine
Jarvis Sheffield, Ben Bova and Rachel Caine

The Kate Willhelm Solstice Award was presented to Jarvis Sheffield, who has a long history of working to help diversify the science fiction community, among authors and fans; and posthumously to award-winning author Ben Bova and Rachel Caine, the bestselling author of several fantasy, science fiction, and thriller series.

The Kate Wilhelm Solstice Award is given by SFWA for distinguished contributions to the science fiction and fantasy community. Bova, Caine, and Sheffield join the ranks of previous Solstice Award winners, including Octavia E. Butler, James Tiptree, Jr., and Carl Sagan.

Best Novel

Network Effect by Martha Wells

Best Novella

“Ring Shout” by P. Djèlí Clark

Best Novelette

Best Short Story

Andre Norton Nebula Award for Middle Grade and Young Adult Fiction

A Wizard’s Guide to Defensive Baking

Ray Bradbury Nebula Award for Outstanding Dramatic Presentation

Best Game Writing

Kate Wilhelm Solstice Award

Kevin O’Donnell, Jr. Service to SFWA Award

The Nebula Awards are voted on, and presented by, full members of Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America, Inc. Founded as the Science Fiction Writers of America in 1965 by Damon Knight, the organisation began with a charter membership of 78 writers; it now has over 1,500 members, among them many of the leading writers of science fiction and fantasy.

Lloyd Biggle, Jr., the SFWA’s first secretary-treasurer, originally proposed in 1965 that the organization publish an annual anthology of the best stories of the year. This notion, according to Damon Knight in his introduction to Nebula Award Stories: 1965 (Doubleday, 1966) “rapidly grew into an annual ballot of SFWA’s members to choose the best stories, and an annual awards banquet.”

Since 1965, the Nebula Awards have been given each year for the best novel, novella, novelette, and short story eligible for that year’s award. The Award for Best Script was added in 2000. An anthology including the winning pieces of short fiction and several runners-up is also published every year. The Nebula Awards Banquet, which takes place each spring, is attended by many writers and editors and is preceded by meetings and panel discussions.

For more information visit

Categories: Books, downthetubes News, Events, Other Worlds

Tags: , ,

Discover more from

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading