Garth Ennis, Bryan Hitch and John McCrea working on new DC Comics projects

Justice League America

Art by Bryan Hitch for Justice League America


Various comic sites including Comic Book Resources and IGN have published details of new series coming from DC Comics in June following the end of their “New 52” imprint – and they include projects from writer and artist Bryan Hitch and writer and artist team Garth Ennis and John McCrea.

The post-New 52 publishing line, launching on 3rd June 2015, will consist of 24 brand new comics, and 25 ongoing comics that will continue without a break in their numbering. The relaunch will follow the company’s “Convergence” event which runs through April and May that will see different universes from DC’s multiverse brought together by Brainiac for a grand, devastating experiment.

Bryan Hitch, who wrote and drew his creator-owned series Real Heroes for Image Comics, returns DC to write and draw Justice League of America. He cut his teeth drawing superheroes and other projects for Marvel UK and is best known for his art for The Authority and The Ultimates and has also worked as a concept artist on the Doctor Who TV series.

Garth Ennis and John McCrea, who previously worked on the DC title Hitman in the 1990s, are back at the company with a limited series Section Eight, based on the characters who first appeared in Hitman back in 1997


The other new DC Comics announced so far are:

  • Batman Beyond written by Dan Jurgens with art from Bernard Chang
  • Bat-Mite written by Jimmy Palmiotti, Amanda Conner
  • Bizarro written by Heath Corson; art by Gustavo Duarte
  • Black Canary written by Brenden Fletcher
  • Constantine: The Hellblazer written by Ming Doyle; art by Riley Rossmo (replacing the current Constantine book)
  • Cyborg written byDavid L. Walker; art by Ivan Reis and Joe Prado
  • Dark Universe written by James Tynion IV; art by Ming Doyle
  • Doctor Fate written by Paul Levitz; art by Sonny Liew
  • Doomed  written by Scott Lobdell; art by Javier Fernandez
  • Mystic U witten by Alisa Kwitney;; art by Mauricet (Mauricet is the creator of the irreverent cartoon Cosmic Patrol which featured in Brtiiain’s STRIP Magazine)
  • Omega Men written by Tom King; art by Barnaby Bagenda
  • Prez written by Mark Russell; art by Ben Caldwell
  • Red Hood/Arsenal  written by Scott Lobdell; art by Denis Medri
  • Starfire written by Jimmy Palmiotti, Amanda Conner; art by Emanuela Lupacchino
  • We Are Robin written by Lee Bermejo; art by Rob Haynes and Khary Randolph

“This heralds in a new era for the DC Universe which will allow us to publish something for everyone, be more expansive and modern in our approach and tell stories that better reflect the society around us,” said DC Entertainment Co-Publisher Dan DiDio in a press release. “Whether you’ve been a DC fan your whole life, or whether you are new to comics – there will be a book for you beginning in June.”

Many regular DC Comics books will continue, detailed as follows:

  • Action Comics written by Greg Pak; art by Aaron Kuder
  • Aquaman written by Cullen Bunn; art by Trevor McCarthy
  • Batgirl written by Cameron Stewart, Brenden Fletcher; art by Babs Tarr
  • Batman written by Scott Snyder; art by Greg Capullo
  • Detective Comics written by Brian Buccelato; art by Francis Manapul
  • Batman/Superman written by Greg Pak; art by Ardian Syaf
  • Catwoman written by Genevieve Valentine; art by David Messina
  • Deathstroke written and drawn by Tony Daniel
  • Flash written by Rob Venditti, Van Jensen; art by Brett Booth
  • Gotham Academy written by Becky Cloonan, Brenden Fletcher; art by Karl Kerschl
  • Gotham By Midnight written by Ray Fawke; art by Juan Ferreyra
  • Grayson written by Tim King, Tim Seeley; art by Mikel Janin
  • Green Arrow written by Ben Percy; art by Richard Zircher
  • Green Lantern written by Robert Venditti; art by Billy Tan
  • Harley Quinn written by Amanda Conner, Jimmy Palmiotti; art by Chad Hardin
  • Justice League written by Geoff Johns; art by Jason Fabok
  • Justice League United written by TBD; art by Travel Foreman, Paul Pelletier
  • Lobo written by Cullen Bunn; art by Cliff Richards
  • Secret Six written by Gail Simone; art by Dale Eaglesham
  • Sinestro written by Cullen Bunn; art by Brad Walker
  • New Suicide Squad written by Sean Ryan; art by Carlos D’Anda
  • Superman written by Gene Luen Yang; art by John Romita, Jr.
  • Superman/Wonder Woman written by Peter Tomasi; art by Doug Mahnke
  • Teen Titans written by Will Pfeifer; art by Kenneth Rodafort
  • Wonder Woman written by Meridith Finch; art by David Finch

A first look at upcoming storylines will be the focus of DC Entertainment’s Free Comic Book Day issue – DC Comics: Divergence – available Saturday 2nd May, featuring three eight-page previews for the June releases of Scott Snyder and Greg Capullo’s Batman, as well as Geoff Johns and Jason Fabok’s launch of the Darkseid War within Justice League featuring the biggest villains in the DCU – Darkseid and the Anti-Monitor, and Gene Luen Yang’s DC Comics debut with celebrated artist John Romita, Jr on Superman.  More than half-a million free issues of the DC Entertainment sampler will be given away at comic book retailers globally.

“In this new era of storytelling, story will trump continuity as we continue to empower creators to tell the best stories in the industry,” said DiDio

• To learn more about the June DC Universe slate, visit

Categories: downthetubes Comics News, US Comics

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Discover more from

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading